Another Cowl and Knitting Sleeves

Hello everyone, it’s Yarn Along time again!

I’ve made progress on my jumper since my last post about it:  I’ve started knitting the sleeves, although there seems to be a theme going with this jumper.  I’ve adapted the sleeves too!

The sleeves in the pattern increase gradually so that they are slim fit.  I knit this first one following the pattern up to about 15cm (6″) and tried it on.  I didn’t like it, it was really fitted and I don’t usually mind that, in fact I love long, slim sleeves.  What I didn’t like about this sleeve is that the rib kind of stuck out.  Not like in the photo below, the cuff was just thicker than the rest of the sleeve.

However rather than undoing all of my work I cut the yarn and took it off the needle so that if I changed my mind I could always go back to where I was.  It was a good thing I did!  I tried casting on the number of stitches after the increases and knitting like that, but after 2cm it was clear that the ribbing was too loose.

In the end I went back to my original sleeve, undoing it to the ribbing and then increasing every two stitches for the next row.  The rest of the sleeve will be knit straight.  I like it now, it’s the same shape as my other jumpers sleeves :)

008 (2)s

The other thing about this sleeve is that I’m using the magic loop method to knit it because I don’t have the right size double point needles.  I had to stop knitting my jumper for a while because I didn’t have any needles to knit them with.  My local yarn shop didn’t have any 6.5mm dpns,  but Gran came to the rescue again and gave me her 6.5mm 80cm circular needle.  Using the magic loop method is hard work though!  I’m hoping to find some dpns at yarndale this weekend.

002s

As an in between project (for when I get bored of sleeve knitting) I’ve started a cowl!  It’s the lovely ribbed cowl pattern by purl soho.  According to my ravelry notes I started it a week ago, but I re-started this too!  I was knitting it on a 4mm needle with dk yarn, but I quickly got bored with it.  I want this to be a long/tall snugly cowl to keep me warm in the winter, so I decided it was worth re-starting this on a 6mm needle with 124 stitches, so that I would finish it quicker.  It really was worth it, I’m still using dk yarn and I thought it might be a bit too loopy, but it just makes it super soft and scrunchy.  I’m using two different balls of yarn.  one is rico essentials merino, and the other I think is lang merino 120. They are very nearly the same colour so I don’t think anyone will notice!

There hasn’t been much book-reading this week.  A friend lent me a few books, mostly by Sarah Dessen.  They aren’t the kind of books I would normally read (maybe thats why i’m not picking them up..) but I’m sure I’ll enjoy them when I get around to reading them!  I really want to re-read Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman sometime soon, it’s one of my favorite books :)

7 thoughts on “Another Cowl and Knitting Sleeves

  1. I have gotten so used to magic loop that I don’t ever use dpn’s anymore. I know it’s fiddly to move the yarn around but I don’t even notice it. I have a few cowls on my list that I want to start when I finish my sweater.

  2. Such a basic pattern that cowl is, but it is truly lovely and I bet yours will be, too. I’m not fond of the magic loop and prefer my dpns any day even though several of my local knitting friends rave about it and think I’m crazy for not embracing it. :) Happy knitting! ~Lisa

Leave a Reply

