The starting of a jumper

It’s been my birthday since I last posted, and look what I got from gran!

006s

Well, really I got the money to buy this, but I don’t think that matters.  I got enough yarn to knit this jumper.  I love the colours, all shades of blues and blue-greens mixed up together in a big 100g ball of yarn.  It’s Tepa by Araucania and it’s really soft and hand dyed, so every hank is different!

015s

Apologies for the quality of this photo.  It was taken in ‘sunset’ mode to get as close to the real colour as possible.  It’s still not right, really the yarn is much more green.

I’ve been wanting to knit Kate Davies’s o w l s jumper for a while now, in fact, ever since I finished my first jumper.  I know mine looks really tiny in the photograph.  It’s because I have it on a 40cm round needle so it’s bunching up all the stitches.  The pattern calls for a 6mm needle for the ribbing, and then changes to a 6.5mm needle for the main body, which I haven’t got, I’ll have to go the yarn shop again!

025s

Yesterday I finished my first sock, but I had to pull the toe back because it was too small :(  It won’t take long to re-knit it though, and it’ll be worth it!

There has also been some bauble knitting for yarndale003s

I’m helping Hannah with this workshop at yarndale!  I’m excited, one month to go!

I’m trying to join in with Yarn Along this week, although I don’t really understand how it works.  All I did was put the button on my sidebar, I didn’t understand where to submit the link.  ah well, I tried!

I haven’t been read a book for a few days.  I finished re-reading the Hunger Games Trilogy a few days ago and it’s still fantastic the second time round!

:-)

5 thoughts on “The starting of a jumper

  1. You know, that’s what I do with my birthday money: I put it all together and a few days later I buy lots of yarn and thread!
    LOVE the blue yarn!

Leave a Reply

