My Jumper is Finished!

IMG_0434s

I finished my jumper on Friday, and I love it!  It’s the Warmi Sunqu by Jane Ellison. I knit the smallest size with Mirasol Tupa (shades; 809 sapphire, 800 cream). I think the yarn is smaller than the suggested yarn because when I had finished the neck edging, I tried it on (without sleeves) and the neckline was way too tight – I could barely get it over my head.

So (guess what?) I pulled back all of the neckline and the shoulders (a bit heart breaking) plus an extra eight rows, and redid the shoulders so that the neckline was eight rows (one stripe) lower.  Then the neckline had to be redone and the shoulder seams were sewn up.  After that I sewed the side seam and the sleeves. I tried it on and, although the sleeves were long enough, they were only just.  I wanted them longer but I didn’t want to have to undo all of my sewing.

I cut (yes!) the yarn just above the cuff and unpicked one row of my knitting, so that the cuff  was separate from the rest of my jumper. I then picked up the stitches of the cuff, knitted twelve rows of stocking stitch and then sewed the cuff and the sleeve back together, so that it looked like knitting (I think it’s called grafting?). I did the same to the other sleeve and now the sleeves are how I want them! :-)

This took me a long time (I think it was September 2011) so I’m not sure if I want to knit another jumper in dk weight yarn anytime soon, but I do want to knit one in a chunky weight yarn sometime, it’s so rewarding!

What do you think?

6 thoughts on “My Jumper is Finished!

  1. It looks very, very, very good. The kitchener stitch is a magical thing indeed. You know what else fun the kitchener stitch is good for is one-way eyelet lace scarves, that way the lace pattern runs the right way on both sides and people who don’t knit think it’s magic. ;)

  2. Pingback: Another Cowl and Knitting Sleeves | Prettily Unraveling

Leave a Reply

